What’s Your Beatitude?

Jesus taught in many places, but His most well-known speech has been titled the Sermon on the Mount. In this teaching, what is known as the Beatitudes is revealed:

“God blesses those who are poor and realize their need for him,
    for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.
God blesses those who mourn,
    for they will be comforted.
God blesses those who are humble,
    for they will inherit the whole earth.
God blesses those who hunger and thirst for justice,
    for they will be satisfied.
God blesses those who are merciful,
    for they will be shown mercy.
God blesses those whose hearts are pure,
    for they will see God.
God blesses those who work for peace,
    for they will be called the children of God.
God blesses those who are persecuted for doing right,
    for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.”

Matthew 5:3-10 NLT

As I read back through the beatitudes this week, I gained a different perspective. In the past, when I have meditated on each verse, I have thought of Jesus speaking about different groups of people –those who are humble, those who hunger and thirst, or those who work for peace. Each group, of course, represents a particular spiritual aspect that is found in the followers of Christ, and each comes with its own heavenly reward.

Read more

Please follow and like us: